Jesmond Dene

I often think it’s funny how you can live in a city and go for such a long time without seeing actual greenery and nature

10

Not to mention, we all often live in such a bubble where we get so caught up in the little things and the petty dramas of everyday life, you don’t even stop and thinking to step outside and breathe in the fresh air.

I fairly often get to a point where I feel almost claustrophobic in my own mind, as though I have too many thoughts swimming around and I need to be working harder, doing more, seeing more people, say ‘yes’ to everything, catch up with my family and long-distance friends and all these tiny pressures of daily life get a bit too much and I need a holiday.

Pretty sure you’ll all know exactly what I’m talking about.

So I’ve decided that when that happens I’m going to do as much as I can to step outside the situation, step back and gain some perspective over the silly little things I find myself stressing and agonising over. I’ll take an hour, an afternoon, a day, however long it takes, off social media, on my own, and walk to my heart’s content and make any frustration dissipate.

The other week I felt exactly like this, and so I went on a wander down to Jesmond Dene (ridiculously close to where I live, yet I’ve only been a handful of times!) with my phone on do not disturb tucked away in my handbag (I’m only human, of course it panicked me to imagine actually leaving it at home) to just wander my troubles away.

I took along my camera, because little pleases me more than trying to capture the beauty of the world through a lens, and I find having my camera with me makes me look harder and therefore notice the beautiful details nature has to offer. I thought I’d share with you some of my photos, if just as a nugget of inspiration to make you crave greenery too!

5

14

7

12

16

15

(Isn’t that just the cutest thing?! Serious life goals right there)

And of course you can’t go to Jesmond Dene without swinging by Pets’ Corner

1

2

3

4

17

Leave a Reply

