Fat Hippo

Sophie and I took a trip to Fat Hippo last week.

2

For those of you who are unfamiliar, the Fat Hippo is a little burger bar in Jesmond (also home to Jam Jar, if you recall?).

It’s very similar in ways to Jam Jar, in that it’s extremely studenty, and the decor is ‘minimalist’, shall we say.

With bare brick walls and stripped back wooden tables, it is very casual and feels just… studenty.

1

The Fat Hippo stands just a road away from the main hubbub of Jesmond, set on the corner and adorned in twinkling fairylights, with this teasing blackboard to lure you in on a fine summer’s day!

10

Crop Top: Missguided / Blazer: Primark / Jeans: ASOS / Ballet Pumps: Primark / Handbag: Dorothy Perkins

We spent forever pouring over the menus deciding which to have, and I know I’ll be heading back as soon as I can to try all the other burgers I didn’t get to try this time!

Eventually I went for the Italian Job: Breaded Chicken with Sundried Toms, Mozzarella and Pesto Mayo

Right up my street!

4

5

3Served with golden skinny fries

The burger doesn’t photograph very well at all (or perhaps it was just my impatience to get stuck in) but I can promise it tasted beautiful!

I am a sucker for all things mayo/sundried tom/mozzarella-y and this certainly fit the bill, along with the crispy chicken it was heavenly!

Sophie opted for the Fat Hippo

6

The most impressive burger I’ve seen in a long while!

Bacon, chorizo, cheese, caramelised onions, fat hippo sauce and onion rings… what more could you want?

I was left with considerable food envy as she tucked into her monster burger, it’s definitely on my list for next time!

7

Hers was served with chunky chips which she wasn’t so keen on but I thought they were delish, although a little too filling alongside the mammoth burgers!

8

And always a sucker for a dessert (despite our bulging stomachs – perhaps my crop top wasn’t such a smart move), we decided to share the Triple Choc Brownie, served with salted caramel and vanilla ice cream

9

So decadent, flavoursome and filling!

It doesn’t look much but boy oh boy we were clutching our stomachs even sharing this thing.

I found the salted caramel lovely at first, but a little too much after two spoonfuls of it.

Fat Hippo is definitely worth a visit, the burgers are monsterous and oh so good!

They have also just opened a new underground restaurant in the centre of Newcastle.. perhaps that’s a calling for another burger-filled outing soon?!

So sorry I’ve been so rubbish with blogging lately, revision and assignments called.

But as term’s over now and summer’s begun, you can expect to hear a lot more from me!

Sign-off copy

One thought on “Fat Hippo

Leave a Reply

