Quayside Seaside

The sun is beaming, the skies are blue… aaaaand students are spending their time in dingy libraries revising.

23

It seems so unfair that the heatwaves always come during exam season, but nothing can stop me from getting my summer wardrobe out and soaking up the rays!

22

Newcastle’s Quayside is so iconic and beautiful and one of the main reasons I fell in love with the city.

Every summer welcomes the arrival of their pop up beach, complete with deck chairs, palm trees, golden sand and a volleyball court to frolick in!

21

Set between the Millennium Bridge and the Tyne bridge, it’s the most perfect place to kick back, relax and enjoy these rare moments of sun

panorama

25

24

26

27

The weather was so beautiful I genuinely felt I was in a foreign country – something I never expected when coming to Newcastle!

29

Summer also means dragging out old clothes as the weather’s never reliable enough to justify buying full outfits each year, which always ends in finding gems you’d forgotten about over the winter months!

28

I’m wearing last year’s ASOS Criss-cross back white cami, Forever 21 Lace Shorts and an age old New Look denim jacket

30

With this year’s Primark ballet pumps (which go with everything, are the comfiest shoes I own and cost £4! Primark snobs can jump off their high horse whenever they’re ready..) and Dorothy Perkins pastel blue handbag which I cannot get enough of!

And of course, a revision break isn’t complete without food!

The girls I’m living with next year all got together for lunch at Jamie’s Italian

I wasn’t going to blog this but the food was too good not to share..

1

More Bottle Green drinks, immediately a winner..

3

(Amiee is extremely excited about her debut entrance on the blog..!)

4

She went for the Penne Carbonara, which looked perfect!

5

Mel had Prawn Linguine

7

With a side of Rocket & Radiccio Salad

8

And me and Em both went for the Meat Planks

12

With cured meats – Fennel salami, pistachio mortadella, prosciutto & schiacciata piccante

Some pickles – Green chillies, best green olives, Gaeta & caper berries

(They don’t lie with the ‘World’s Best Olives’ claim – they are the best I’ve ever ever ever tasted)

11

9

Italian Cheeses – Buffalo mozzarella with chilli & mint, pecorino & amazing chilli jam

10

And a crunchy salad of shaved carrot & beets with lemon & loads of mint, which is the perfect palette cleanser.

13

My Antipasti was amazing, and so filling I didn’t think I could manage pudding.

But then, but then, but then. We kept noticing the waiters floating past with these vast wooden boards with an array of various desserts which had our mouths watering every time they passed.

So we grabbed a waiter, asked what they were and said we wanted lots of them.

They presented us with our dessert platter

15

14

It’s made up of baby portions (portionlets, if you will) of all the desserts on the menu, and it’s perfect for indecisive people like me who can never make their mind up when faced with a dessert menu.

16

Warm Amaretti & Granola Crumble

Spiced fruit compote of apples, pears & cranberries with frozen natural yoghurt & a drizzle of honey

17

Tiramisú

Coffee-flavoured trifle with orange mascarpone & chocolate

18

Autumn Rippled Pavlova

Zesty cream, limoncello-soaked fruits & smashed hazelnut praline

(Possibly my favourite)

19

Epic Brownie

Warm fudgy brownie with amaretto ice cream & caramelised amaretti popcorn

20

Chocolate & Espresso Profiteroles

(The cream inside of these is chocolatey and coffee-y, amazing!)

My only little teeny weeny criticism, is that there wasn’t enough.

By that I mean I could have had full portion sizes of all of these desserts, and probably would have still wanted more.

You gotta give it to the guy, Mr Oliver may have ruined my school dinners, but he does know a thing or two about good food..

I have a new facebook page for this blog! Please give it a like here : https://www.facebook.com/KatyJaneBlog?fref=ts and share it on your own newsfeed, I’ll be forever in your debt! xx

One thought on “Quayside Seaside

Leave a Reply

