Countryside Brunch

I absolutely love my hometown, Derby.

1

I’m little more than ten minutes away from the city centre one way, and rolling green fields the other. This means the countryside is right on my doorstep, without the inconvenience of being 100 miles away from civilisation. Ideal.

As I’m back from uni for Easter I’m trying to cram in as many catch ups with my friends as I possibly can before we go another torturous 3 months apart.

So Hope and I clambered into the car and headed out to Hackwood Farm for a spot of brunch.

17

A converted dairy farm, Hackwood is a little hidden gem

Tea rooms, butchery, farm shop and a working farm all bundled into one!

21

We headed for the tearooms first to get our strengths up later exploring.

11

There’s plenty of tables to choose from, and we headed round the corner to the slightly less busy area and collapsed into engulfing sofas.

2

The tea rooms bear that really rustic, homely feeling, as well as the undeniable scent of spring that makes you want to throw out all the jumpers in your wardrobe in exchange for bright colours and florals galore.

After thoroughly scouring the menu we placed our orders (toasted ciabattas with a pot of tea each) and settled down to the storytelling of our past few months.

4

5

My ciabatta was absolutely beautiful – mozzarella, sundried tomatoes and chorizo.

Hackwood also welcomes pups into their tearooms, so we were joined by some adorable little pooches

6

8

Made me want a dog of my own even more, just imagining long walks through the countryside followed by a congratulatory pot of tea and deli platter.

We managed to pause our chatter for two minutes whilst ordering puds, before hastily continuing.

3

7

Egg Custard Tart for Hope

9

Toasted Teacakes slathered in jam and butter for me

10

To our delight, we didn’t have to walk far to the Farm Shop

16

Selling all sorts from chutneys and jams…

18

…to pasta sauces and oils…

15

…to wines and locally brewed ales…

14

… to adorable little knick-knacks and gifts!

13

12

Hackwood Farm was set up by a couple with a focus on honest, good quality food. Everything is kept beautifully simple.

19

20

The Deli boasted a vast range of cheeses, cured meats, pasties, pies and pat├ęs, salamis, quiche, olives… the list goes on.

I could have oggled all day long.

But with promises of animals, Hope dragged me outside

And obviously I willingly followed

23

24

25

These fellows were my favourites, they were ever so friendly and really quite sweet

26

Beginning to think maybe I am a country girl at heart…

Leave a Reply

