“Cheesus that’s good!” (Mother’s Day III)

I think cheesecake is my favourite food ever. It’s always a difficult decision but I’m pretty much certain about this one.

14

And as far as I’m aware, there’s no one in the entire universe who doesn’t like it. And mama further confirmed my suspicions by opting for this Vanilla Cheesecake with Raspberry Coulis to round off her Mother’s Day meal on Sunday.

11

I wholly believe she made the right decision.

I must confess, I got the quantities wrong when doing the shopping so this cheesecake is shorter than it should have been, so if you try it don’t be alarmed if it looks much taller! (It still tasted ah-mazing so I wasn’t too annoyed)

And lucky you, here’s the recipe

For the cheesecake:

180g digestive biscuits, crushed into fine crumbs
75g butter, melted
500g full fat cream cheese
100g icing sugar
200ml double cream, whipped
1 tsp of vanilla essence

1

For the raspberry coulis:

300g raspberries
2 tbsp icing sugar or caster sugar, or to taste
1 tbsp lemon juice, or to taste

(My raspberries were quite sharp already so I only used a teaspoon of lemon juice, and added a little more sugar)

Crush up your digestives into crumbs, either with a food processor or put in a plastic bag and bash the living daylights out of it with a rolling pin

2

Add your melted butter

3

Mix thoroughly and press into the bottom of a greased round baking tin so it’s all flat and compact

4

(I found using my fingers to press it down worked better than a spoon)

Pop into the fridge for half an hour or until set

5

For the topping, whip the double cream.

Mix the icing sugar, vanilla essence and cream cheese together till thoroughly mixed, the slowly fold in double cream, a bit at a time (don’t add all at once!)

6

Empty the mixture into the cake tin, spread evenly and allow to set in the fridge for at least an hour.

For the coulis, whizz your raspberries, sugar and lemon juice in a food processer until it’s a purée

7

8

Set a sieve over a clean bowl and pour in purée.

9

Rub the purée through the sieve to remove all seeds from the raspberries. Pour into a jug and serve!

10

I added some crumbled flake to the top too, go ahead and get creative with whatever’s in your cupboard! (I’d avoid the marmite though..)

1213

14

This creamy little beauty didn’t last very long.. in fact it didn’t even see it to the end of pud time.

The three of us gobbled it up with second, third and fourth helpings..

And then maaaaaaaaybe one of us took to the coulis with a spoon…

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

