Red Pepper and Chorizo Risotto

Risotto is definitely one of my favourite foods. It’s creamy and filling and oh so homely, yet still packs a punch with its flavour!

I was always told risotto is a difficult dish to make so I steered clear. However, it turns out it just takes a fair bit of time, but I promise it’s a doddle! Stick the radio on or a programme on your laptop and get to it.

You’ll need:

Two large handfuls arborio rice

Handful of chorizo sausage, sliced and quartered

Two rashers of smoked bacon, diced

Half a pepper (I used a full one as I got carried away..), diced

1 Large clove of garlic

Handful or two of black olives, diced

1x Chicken/Vegetable stock cube (depending on your preference, I used one of each)

1 Litre boiled water

Sprinkle of grated Parmesan/Grana Padano

Sprinkle of grated Mozzarella (Optional)

Salt and Pepper to taste

Sunflower oil/Large knob of butter

Also I’d recommend half an onion, I didn’t have one but think it would have been a nice addition.

 1

I use rough measures for ingredients (unless I’m baking) as a) I don’t have scales at uni, and b) I can’t be bothered with being precise, it takes too long and makes little difference anyway.

2

Heat some oil in the pan and whack all the chopped ingredients together, stir it all around

3

Feel free to vary the ingredients you use and don’t worry if you don’t have any of the ingredients in the recipe! (Unless it’s the actual arborio rice, in which case you should probably look at a different recipe..)

For a vegetarian version I’d use sundried tomatoes and mushrooms instead of the meat.

 5

Once everything has browned and cooked a little bit (I judged it by whether the bacon looked done or not) add your arborio rice. I wasn’t really sure how much to add, I think the recipe suggests around 100g per person.. I just chucked in however much I saw fit and it ended up being about perfect!

4

Arborio Rice should be available from any supermarket, pretty sure even my rubbish local Londis sells it so you shouldn’t have too much trouble finding it.

6

Stir around till any juices or oils have been soaked up by the rice, add a little more oil if necessary.

7

Here’s where it gets tricky and time consuming.

On a medium heat, pour a ladle of your stock into the pan and stir around, covering the rice. You need to keep very slowly adding the chicken stock so the risotto slowly soaks it up and cooks in it.

You want it bubbling away on a medium-low heat for a while.

8

Keeeeeeeeeeeeep adding the stock until it’s all gone, don’t rush this step! It should take 15-20 minutes to add all the stock and let it all cook in, spend any spare time dancing around the kitchen (this part is essential).

Make sure you keep stirring the mixture so it doesn’t stick to the bottom, and try it every now and then – when the risotto’s soft it’s cooked.

9

Grate your parmesan on top, and add a handful of grated mozzarella too if you have any

10

The mixture should be a gorgeous golden brown colour by now, and the rice should be soft and slightly sticking together.

12

Serve with a sprinkle of grated parmesan and some freshly ground black pepper. Grab a biiiiiig spoon and tuck in!

11

Not too difficult, and definitely more than worth the time spent cooking it!

Thanks so much for reading, let me know any feedback on my very first blog post so you get the most out of every recipe!

Lots of love x

Leave a Reply

